It’s today

Today as I took the trash to the curb, I rushed to the end of the road, preparing for my day.


Planning for all things to be done, measuring the potential of the time in front of me.


On my way back up the drive, I was struck by the giggling of leaves a they watched me – not in a judgmental way, but in a “we can’t wait until she sees” kind of way.
And so I looked up, instead of down
Out instead of in.


And I was greeted by lush green, blue sky and a breeze that tickled my cheek as a birdsong rang out high and clear.


And I realized
If I’m living in the plan and planning for the future
Then today doesn’t matter.
And if today doesn’t matter, what does ?


The truth is, today is the day that matters. Today is the beginning and it’s not a race to accomplish or make progress
It’s a race to feel and to be alive and to stop doing whatever it is you’re doing so you don’t miss what you’re becoming.
It’s beautiful and messy and intricate and complex and I love it.

Today, I beg you. Find something that stills your mind and steals your heart. Stay there for a while. Don’t rush the encounter, nor rush leaving it.

For me, it was the giggling leaves as the breeze danced among them. What’s it for you ?

One thought on “It’s today

Leave a comment